History of JCUPSA

JCUPSA was formed during the commencement of the Bachelor of Pharmacy program at the James Cook University Townsville Campus, in Queensland. JCUPSA members have been recognised, alongside JCU Pharmacy staff members, as top tier contributors to pharmacy education and practice in Australia. With a wide variety of students from across Queensland, and abroad, JCUPSA members have been, are, and will continue to be a strong presence in the pharmacy profession in Australia.

JCUPSA is set to host the Annual NAPSA Congress in January 2022 in Cairns, following on from the extension of the JCU pharmacy program to Cairns and Mackay in 2021. The committee has since expanded to ensure representation of all pharmacy students in nothern Queensland.

JCUPSA endeavors to:

JCUPSA aims to provide educational and social opportunities to our members throughout their time at James Cook University. We also provide discounted textbook orders for our students, in addition to up-to-date information on the pharmacy profession in Australia. Our overall purpose is to enrich and expand the experience of pharmacy students during their time of study at JCU.

Benefits of JCUPSA Membership:

    • Included NAPSA membership

    • Included Pharmacy Guild of Australia membership (our Platinum Sponsors)

    • Discounted prices on current pharmaceutical texts such as the APF and AMH

    • Exclusive access to discounted educational courses and events

    • Discounted access to social events throughout the year

Payment Details:

Payment for JCUPSA (and NAPSA) membership can be either annually for $20 or a once-off payment of $60 for first and second years and $50 for third and fourth years. Please pay by cash at the JCUPSA Office or by bank transfer. The bank account details are as follows:

Name: James Cook University Pharmacy Student Association

Account number: 10359355

BSB: 064823

For any queries please contact the president on jcupsa@napsa.org.au

Executive contacts for the 2021-22 committee -

PRESIDENT: Renee Buckland | renee.buckland@my.jcu.edu.au

TOWNSVILLE CO-CHAIR: Shane McArdle | shane.mcardle@my.jcu.edu.au

CAIRNS CO-CHAIR: Jason Kirwood | jason.kirwood@my.jcu.edu.au

MACKAY CO-CHAIR: Anisha Pereira | anisha.pereira@my.jcu.edu.au

TREASURER: Alexandra Lynn | alexandra.lynn@my.jcu.edu.au

SECRETARY: Kathryn Tidmas | kathryn.tidmas@my.jcu.edu.au

Postal Address

James Cook University Pharmacy Student Association

C/O Pharmacy Department

James Cook University

Douglas QLD 4811

Contact Details

Email: jcupsa@napsa.org.au

Facebook: www.facebook.com/jcupsa

Instagram: @jcupsa

Snapchat: jcupsa

Twitter: @jcupsa_rx